Cycling tips

I’ve just found this article on the BBC website with ‘tips’ for bicycle riding commuters, taken from the example set by the medal winning British Olympic cyclists in Beijing. All well and good, and as with the commenters on the article I both agree and disagree with various of the pieces of advice offered. However, my biggest stumbling block which has stopped me getting on my bike for the last month has been the rain – I don’t think we have had a consistently dry period in the last month. And if we did I was either in work or asleep! Roll on September, if the dry weather is returning as promised, so that I can get back to my cycling for fitness and fun.

6 Responses

  1. Learn to enjoy the rain.

    Also – good clothing and a pair of mudguards is the difference between being slightly moist but warm and comfortable, and being cold, wet and shivering.

    Now that I have a good altura waterproof jacket, sealskinz waterproof socks and some quick-drying synthetic shorts (endura hummvee), I actually like riding in the rain better than I do in dry weather.

  2. I agree with MoD and his comments. One thing I would add is just keep your wits about while out in the rain and you should be fine.

    Plus, if you don’t like the rain in your eyes, Oakley have developed new hydrophobic lenses that help to repel the water from the lenses. This should help makes things easier to see while out in the rain.

  3. Thanks for these comments – I think that a pair of waterproof socks would be fab, and the water repellent lenses sound ideal – that is something that really really puts me off cycling in the rain. I’ll have to look into it. I’ve already got my waterproof trousers and (of course) coat, so these two additions should see me ready for almost any weather!

  4. The only problem with waterproof trousers is that they don’t allow heat to escape, thus they cause your legs to get very warm. As a result your legs get very sweaty. Obviously this sweat cannot escape because they’re waterproof. So you end up with wet legs anyway.

    The only time I’ve found them to be useful is in very cold weather, especially when it’s snowing.

  5. Very true. However, I’m not sure that I have the figure yet for shorts, but maybe I’ll just have to wear jogging bottoms and carry spare trousers to change into. I’ve been using my waterproof trousers more for the school run when it’s been raining heavily than for cycling. Still, today was a lovely day and the weekend promises plenty of dry spells so I should have plenty of opportunities to get out.

  6. Sounds like a good idea to me. Some people I know leave a couple of sets of clothes at work so they don’t have to carry them (except for carrying them home to wash every so often)

Leave a Reply

