Bread and home baking

Last month I made sun dried tomato and garlic bread, and I’ll definitely be making it again. It was every bit as nice as the tear and share bread from the supermarket, and far cheaper! I love my bread, and so I was thrilled to find how easy it is to make at home, and that I can make all the flavour variations at a fraction of the cost – that has to be a consideration, given the escalating cost of my grocery shopping…but that’s a topic for a separate post. Soon, I plan to try out a fruity bread, and then maybe a bread with seeds in, or maybe basil. Do any of you have any recommendations as to how I could try varying my bread?

My father bought my mother a breadmaker for her birthday last month, and she’s not looked back! I don’t think they’ve bought a single loaf of bread since she opened up her present, as she finds it so easy to add in all the ingredients and fire up the breadmaker. And I managed to get her a bargain yesterday. Tesco were selling off their Hovis seeds and grains flour at half price – 58p per kilo. This is my mother’s preferred bread flour as the bread made from this seems to stay fresher for longer. And so I bought it for her. All seven bags left on the shelves. I had only gone into the shop for a bag of rice, so I got a very curious look from the checkout operator when I loaded that and the multiple bags of flour onto the belt!

In a related comment, I went to Lidl recently as my mother told me that she had heard that they sell good quality bread flour cheaply. And i have to say that I was amazed – in Lidl I was able to buy 1.5kg of strong white bread flour for 48p as opposed to well over £1 for Hovis bread flour. My Lidl flour works out as costing 16p for each loaf I make, so even factoring in the other ingredients and the electricity to bake the bread I must be saving a fair bit of money – the fresh loaves I’ve been buying in the bakery have been £1.29 each! It’s definitely the economic way forward!

3 Responses

  1. I make bread almost daily during winter. Find it is the best way to keep the kitchen warm on a cold winters day.

    I make the dough in our breadmaker while the oven is heating up. Once the dough is made I transfer it to a bread tins- this is a special moment for me because my mum gave me her bread tins she used to use when we lived in Africa during my childhood. Mums lives pretty far away and can’t visit because of her MS so using the bread tins is one way she can be part of my daily life – I’m a sappy chick some days.

    Anyways I digressed. Bread into tins. Sit on top of and close to the oven which is nice and hot by now. Leave to rise for 30-45min. Come back and put in oven for 30-45 min depending on the type of bread. I usually cook it at 180C.

    Our current fav bread is a crusty white bread mix from Lauke flour mills (in Australia) with 2 tsp of crushed garlic and 2 tablespoons of dried italian herb mix added. I’ve got some mixing up in the breadmaker as I type 🙂

  2. Okay you inspired me. Yesterday I used our regular white bread mix but I added

    1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
    1/2 onion really finely diced
    6 rashers of bacon really finely diced

    I lightly sauteed the onion and bacon, until the onion was translucent first.

    I just added all the ingredients into my bread mixer then put it on the dough setting.

    Then did my usual transfer to bread tins and leave to rise for 45 minutes.

    I mixed up and egg and brushed that over the top of the bread dough just before putting in the oven.

    Oh my god! It was fabulous. The egg made the top really brown and shiny like a fancy bread.

    The taste of the onion, bacon and cheese and my taste buds doing a happy dance.

    AND my house smelled delicious for hours. 😀

    Thank you for the inspiration.

  3. Mmmm, I’m going to have to give this a try! Although I’m quite sure that it won’t do my diet any good! Maybe I’ll make them into rolls rather than a loaf, and then I can restrict myself to only one 😉

Leave a Reply

