South Pacific

Tuesday was my Mother’s birthday and, as I didn’t want to buy her the same old chocolates and toiletries that she always ends up getting, I suggested that I could take her to the theatre. It just so happened that South Pacific was at the New Theatre in Cardiff this week, and, as we’re both big fans of musicals, we decided to give it a go. And we were really glad we did – it was a fantastic production and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

It stars Dave Willetts, who has formerly starred in Phantom and Les Miserables among many other noteworthy productions (so a fair pedigree then!) and Helena Blackman, who is probably best known for being the runner up in BBC’s ‘How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria’. I performed in a school production of ‘South Pacific’ (only a minor role) so I know all the songs (and a lot of the dialogue!) and I really really enjoyed it. Even the minor characters were a delight, and everyone was very watchable. I may have mentioned before, but my benchmark for judging the quality of a performance (film or theatre) is how far into the performance I look at my watch. I can honestly say that I didn’t even think about glancing at my watch until the curtain came down for the interval. It was really good and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to any of you that can get to see it.

Leave a Reply

