Bread

Just a quick break from my reporting of my weekend in Oxford to tell you about my first foray into the realms of breadmaking. I decided that I’d like to give it a go as bread is becoming so expensive to buy, and as a family we eat a lot and don’t enjoy the cheaper bread you can get in the supermarkets. So, it makes sense if I learn how to bake good bread to try to cut back on food costs a little. And also, we always enjoy the speciality breads like cheese bread, or fruit bread which obviously cost even more again.

I bought myself some expensive Hovis flour for my first attempt, although I intend to buy cheaper bread flour in the future. I found the mixing and kneading very therapeutic, in that I didn’t have to think about anything while I was doing it, and it was obviously coming together well and working out in a relatively short amount of time.

I think that when you have stress and worry in other areas of your life, it’s a good thing to be able to do something like this. It’s something that doesn’t take long, but produces a very satisfying and useful result, and also reminds you (when things appear to be going wrong elsewhere) that you are good at something! Ooh, didn’t I sound negative then! But I just wanted to explain what I meant by baking therapy. I can also find this calm when I cycle around the country lanes where it is quiet, and when I walk or sit beside a river or the sea. I think that it is because in open spaces like parks or the seaside you can open your mind completely and relax into your surroundings.

And this, a couple of hours later, was the finished result. I apologise for the poor photo, but it was quite late by the time I took it out of the oven and I was tired! However, I’m pleased to announce that everyone had some of my bread for breakfast this morning (the boys had honey on it and I just had some butter) and everyone said that it was very nice! And so, with that encouragement behind me, I will be making more bread in the very near future! I plan to experiment with different flavours as well as different shapes, and hope that ultimately it will save us money as well as provide me with more valuable baking therapy!

Leave a Reply

