Windowsill horticulture!

I know I’ve been away for an awfully long time, and I’m really really sorry, but life has just been getting in the way of my blogging career – how dare it! Anyway, I have returned now – albeit just for a quick visit – and I thought I’d share with you my latest project. I have decided to do my small bit towards cutting food miles by growing some salad veggies on my windowsill.

My mother has very kindly given me three tomato plants and a pepper plant, all of which have lots of buds and a couple of open flowers on them, and I have bought another basil plant, in the hopes that we manage to keep it alive longer than most of it’s predecessors! I really think that this task might be easier since we’ve had the double glazing done though, as I’m sure that draughts were the main problem we encountered in our windowsill horticulture before, and this problem has now been virtually eradicated.

I’ve bought a few packets of seeds as well, for both windowsill growing and for pots on the patio just outside our kitchen window. More on them as they are planted! My younger son seems (at the moment) to be taking a keen interest in gardening though, so he will have sole care of the cress pots.

I think that this sudden motivation probably has a lot to do with my mother having moved only two miles away from me. She has been a keen and talented gardener for as long as I can remember, and when we had the space at our old house, many was the dinner we would enjoy which was crammed full of veggies (and fruit) grown solely by her, with nothing have been bought in. Although I am lazy, and gardening definitely takes effort and perseverance, I’d love to think that one day, when we have our own house with our own garden, I’ll have my own small fruit and vegetable patch providing a small amount of our fresh produce.

One Response

  1. Hi!

    I have that exact pepper plant. The man who sold it to me was clueless as to which variety of pepper it is or name- do you happen to know? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

