Mystery jogger – you made me smile!

I was travelling by bus out of Cardiff today, and I treated myself to a ride on the top deck (I’ve told you before, I’m only seven years old inside!). It gave me a great vantage point for observing people along the sides of the road, and one person in particular caught my attention. He was the mystery jogger I alluded to in the title. There was nothing unusual in his appearance – black jogging bottoms, backpack, medium length hair, not especially tall – but there was something about his gait that drew my attention. I love that word – gait! Not a word I often have cause to use, more’s the pity. Anyway, this young man was running as if he had springs in his feet. It’s hard to explain. I don’t mean just the ease of running that you see in experienced runners, although he certainly did make it look effortless, it was more as if he was expressing joy through his movements. Due to the stop-starting of the bus through the early rush hour traffic, I was able to watch  him for a while, and I don’t know why, but he did bring a smile to my face! I was quite disappointed when he turned off into Splott and ran out of sight.

I love it when something like that happens, something unexpected that comes along and lifts you up without any effort at all. So thank you, mystery jogger, for enlivening my bus journey this afternoon. I hope you enjoyed your run!

Leave a Reply

