Relay For Life

Have I mentioned yet that I’m on the committee for the “all new for 2008” Cardiff Relay For Life? Yes? No? I really can’t remember! Either way, things are beginning to happen here now, so you’ll definitely be hearing more about this in the coming weeks. I didn’t want to post previously until it looked like we would have definite news of a venue and a date, which I should be able to publish within the next fortnight! How exciting! If you are based anywhere near Cardiff and would like to know more about this event (in aid of Cancer Research UK) please get in touch with me and I’ll be more than happy to fill you in with the details. If you’re not living near enough to join this Relay, what about this one?

I’ve been hearing more and more about Second Life recently, but have never properly investigated it myself as I’ve not got broadband Internet at home yet, and I’d imagine you’d need a better connection than my 56kbps dial up to enjoy the full benefits! However, I was browsing through WordPress, looked up Relay For Life and found the Relay For Life of Second Life! How fab is that! Now, no matter where you live in the world, you can get on board with this virtual, on-line RFL experience! I’ve not spent enough time reading it yet to establish whether it actually raises money for the American Cancer Society.

Anyway, I’m interested to find websites related to more RFLs, so I expect I’ll be spending some more time searching in the next few days. I’m after any tips and advice that are available! Ours is a first year Relay, so we’re all a little nervous and anxious to make it a successful and memorable (for all the right reasons!) event.

2 Responses

  1. Jeannie_

    I hope you have the change to come into Second Life soon! We launched March 15th and have already raised over $10,000.00 USD. They was the community has embraced Relay for Life of Second Life is simply amazing!

    If you are able to connect, open search and see if I am online. I will help you get going!

    Syn (Lisa)

  2. Jeannie,

    Thanks for the nice comment. It’s also nice to hear that you are also passionate about making a change and impact on this great cause. I’ll keep you posted on the progress here in San Francisco. However, we are still in such an early stage and won’t have our 2nd meeting until tomorrow. Let me know how you are coming along in Cardiff!

    -Carol

Leave a Reply

