Thai Red Chicken Curry

Thai red chicken curry is one of my favourite ever meals! I love spicy food, although it’s a fine balance as if it’s too spicy I find that it loses flavour and I don’t enjoy it. Anyway, getting back on subject, I discovered this sort of curry a few years ago, but until recently I could only find a very convoluted recipe for making it myself which, when followed, took a long time and didn’t produce very good results. However, with the increase of ‘speciality’ foods in the supermarkets, I’ve found a thai red curry paste which allows me to create my favourite dinner in a fraction of the time. And I love it! And the kids eat it up (every last drop, as my youngest would say!). Anyway, I thought that I would share it with you, as I love it so much. It’s one of those meals which is really simple and quite quick to make, but tastes as if you’ve spent a reallly long time on it! Plus, if you substitute the coconut milk for the low-fat (or even no-fat) natural yoghurt, it’s something which can be enjoyed while you’re on a diet! Bonus!

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breasts, cubed
  • 1 small red onion and 1 small white onion, finely sliced
  • red, yellow and or orange bell peppers (as much or little as you want), finely sliced
  • 2 sticks of celery, sliced
  • 1 dessertspoon of red thai curry paste
  • 1.5 teaspoons garlic puree
  • 1 x 400g tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tin coconut milk OR 350ml low fat natural yoghurt
  • Coriander (cilantro) to garnish

Method

  1. Using a little spray oil, fry the cubed chicken breast pieces until cooked.
  2. Add the red and white onion and fry until soft. Add the garlic puree and the thai red curry paste and make sure that the chicken and onion are well covered.
  3. Stir in the celery and chopped mixed pepper (and any other quick-cooking vegetables that you fancy) and fry for a few seconds before pouring in the chopped tomatoes.
  4. Stir well, and allow to simmer for a couple of minutes. Add the coconut milk, mix and then allow to reduce until the curry sauce has a nice consistency. Alternatively, if using natural yoghurt instead of coconut milk, stir this in just a minute or two before serving, so that it is well mixed in and heated through. This shouldn’t need to be reduced as the yoghurt will thicken the sauce considerably.
  5. Sprinkle with fresh coriander (cilantro) and serve with pad thai noodles, rice or warm naan bread according to taste.

Hope you enjoy it too! My next mission is to try out a couple of versions of flavoured rice – jasmine rice or coconut rice would go nicely with this dish.

3 Responses

  1. Well I am making this tonight so we shall see how it goes.

  2. I hope it turned out well!

  3. Good info. Lucky me I ran across your site by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have bookmarked it for later!

Leave a Reply

