Ideas for birthday cakes, anyone?

It’s nearly that time of year again, where I have to drag out my sugarcrafting abilities, dust them off and get some creative ideas for birthday cakes. I have to admit that this year I’m struggling for ideas a little bit. My older boy’s birthday is first, and he is really into Doctor Who and Ben10. So, for him I’m thinking of either attempting a TARDIS cake (lying down – way too ambitious an idea to have a properly standing up one!) or a Ben10 omnitrix. Either would be complicated, and I can’t think of anything simpler which would still have that ‘wow factor’ for him. My younger son is harder still to cater for, as he seems to follow his brother with his interests, and I’m not doing two identical cakes a fortnight apart! I’m considering doing a cake which is unrelated to any of his interests, in the same way that last year I made my elder son a pirate treasure chest cake (it was loosely connected to his liking of “Pirates of the Carribbean”, but was really a delaying of the inevitable TARDIS cake).

Hmm, I can see I’m going to have to put some more thought into this.

Leave a Reply

