Pacers, fresca and other forgotten goodies!

Isn’t it strange how goodies from your childhood can provoke such strong reactions once you’ve reached adult years? I have a very good friend, Chris, who is only a couple of years older than me but who says that he is made to feel older due to my inability to remember pacers and fresca. For those of you not in the know, pacers were like spearmint flavoured opal fruits (sorry, can’t condition myself to think of them as ‘starburst’!) with three diagonal green stripes on each sweet, and are no longer in production. Fresca is a soft drink produced by the Coca Cola family which was fizzy and, I think, grapefruit flavour. It’s still being made and has in recent years enjoyed something of a revival in the US, but I don’t think it is sold here in the UK. I’ve looked on the internet to try to find it as a nice surprise for my friend, but with no luck.

‘Starburst’ and ‘Snickers’ are two other things which seem to get people annoyed. For people of my age and older, they will always, whatever is printed on their labels, be known as ‘Opal Fruits’ and ‘Marathon’. And don’t even get me started on Jif/Cif!

Leave a Reply

