Gym-bunnies

So, how many of us go through the ritual joining-of-the-gym at the start of a new school year? I think it could even beat New Year as a time of new starts and new regimes. I’ve joined my local gym now that my youngest is at school in the mornings, and plan on walking up there as many days as I can manage after the school run to make the most of my time alone and get fit and healthier. I’m almost looking forward to Monday morning so that I can go again!

I’m also wondering about taking part in the Aspire Channel Swim this year. This is a sponsored swimming challenge where you swim the equivalent of the channel (1408 lengths in my case) in your local pool over a twelve week period. I’ve worked this out to be roughly 120 lengths per week. Achievable, for someone with very low fitness levels? Time will tell! I can usually managed forty to fifty lengths, given a quiet time at the pool and about three quarters of an hour to do it in, so I’ll just have to make time to go and actually do it now!

Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

