Birthday cake again! I love Jane Asher!

Another birthday is upon us. It’s my mother-in-law’s birthday tonight, and I wanted to give her a nice birthday as she’s so good to us all year round – always on hand to help out or babysit for us at the drop of a hat! So, my cake tins have come out again, as has the Jane Asher book, and this is the result:

birthday-cake-and-chocs.jpg

I’m pleased with how it has turned out, and it does look like a normal box of chocolates in the picture, so job done! It is actually a plain sponge cake sandwiched with and covered in lemon curd, then there’s a circle of icing on the top of the cake (I used the cake tin as a cutter) and a long narrow strip around the outside to form the side of the ‘box’. I made the truffles as well, and have a separate picture to show you those.

birthday truffles

There are four flavours. From the top right and working clockwise we have; brandy with dark chocolate, Cointreau with white chocolate, dark chocolate with glace ginger and finally white chocolate with apricot. And there are plenty of spares which the family will have to work its way through this weekend!

I really hope that she’ll like it, and that she enjoys the chocolates. The next birthday on the family calendar is mine, in the middle of June, and I don’t think I’ll be making a cake for that!

One Response

  1. Wow, I’m very impressed!!

Leave a Reply

