A lovely day

I have had a really lovely day. I have been spoilt rotten by my husband and sons (as befits my place in the family, on Mother’s Day!) and have been genuinely lazy. It was great!

Lemon cream cake - very yummy!I was brought breakfast in bed by all three, consisting of scrambled eggs on toast with a pot of tea. I believe each of the three took a hand in preparing that for me. Regular additional pots of tea were provided through the day, as well as lunch, a slice of delicious lemon cake with lemon cream filling after lunch, and a buffet tea with homemade pizzas and more cakes! Mmmm, a yummy day!

I went to see my mum this afternoon, so another flowers for Mum from the (and chosen by the) boyscouple of hours of relaxing was to be had there! Then this evening was the final of ‘Dancing On Ice’, so Jo and B came round to watch it with us (as well as to share my cake!)

All in all, I’ve had a lovely relaxing day, with lots of time spent playing on the internet doing absolutely nothing constructive at all. Tomorrow I shall have to have a busy day, what with the small mountain of clean laundry that has accumulated over the past few sunny days, and Jo’s trousers that need patching. Ah, it’s a hard life!

Happy Mothers Day to all of you mums out there – I hope you had a lovely day too.

Gardening fun

So, I’ve been largely absent from cyberspace for the last couple of days, due to the demands of Jo and her budding vegetable garden! I’ve had a lovely couple of days, spent entirely outside in the health-giving fresh air and sunshine, picking at the ground with a fork when the mood took me, or otherwise watching Jo do the hard work while I commented and made general encouraging noises. A very satisfactory state of affairs!

Friday was a day off for my children, due to a teacher training day, which meant we were able to spend the whole day with Jo. Handsome spent a lot of time becoming Midge the Dog’s best friend, while Cheeky manfully stripped to his vest and trousers and hacked away at the ground with all his four year old strength! We had a picnic in the sunshine, and Jo and I ended the day with large omelettes made from her own chickens’ eggs and flavoured with sausages from home-reared pigs. Yum!

Yesterday (Saturday) was an unexpected treat for me, as at the last minute I offered to spend the day with Jo again, leaving the children with GG to prepare Mothers Day surprises for me (more on that later). She picked me up after breakfast and we had another really lovely day (which she documented here), making some small progress on her future vegetable garden. Digging really is harder work than I had pictured it would be!

I wasn’t a huge amount of help for the actual digging, due to the cold that I think is much, much better after all that fresh air, but she says that it was helpful to have me there to groom Snipe (who is moulting profusely) and help make some of her other jobs go a little faster. And anyway, I got to spend time playing with all the pigs and making friends with some of the chickens, so I’m happy!

I really have too many photos to write a cohesive post, interspersing them here and there, so I’m just going to put them in a big splodge here. Sorry!

 Handsome and Cheeky get gardening!

Handsome and Cheeky get gardening!

The weaners arranged themselves in size order ready to be fed!

The weaners arranged themselves in size order ready to be fed!

I looked to my left whilst eating my lunch...

I looked to my left whilst eating my lunch...

...then I looked to my right!
…then I looked to my right!
I know for a fact that Jo would never approve of this sort of begging behaviour – because as soon as she started to walk back up the garden towards us, the dogs assumed an air of nochalance and wandered off, as if expressing an interest in my sandwiches was the last thing on their minds! 
Speckle and I became good friends yesterday

Speckle and I became good friends yesterday

Once we realised how hard digging was, we set the weaners to work on the other segment that needed sorting!

Once we realised how hard digging was, we set the weaners to work on the other segment that needed sorting!

Sleepy dogs, at the end of a busy day. I love how friendly these two are!

Sleepy dogs, at the end of a busy day. I love how friendly these two are!

Happy Mother’s Day!

mum-biscuit

Today is Mothering Sunday here in the UK, and I wanted to share with all the mothers and grandmothers who read my blog, this biscuit presented proudly to me by my youngest son! He and his classmates all made and decorated similar biscuits for their mothers in school, and I’m not sure if I can bring myself to eat it!

I think that the writing in icing is very good, especially when you consider that he’s only four years old. Anyway, munch away and enjoy it with me – yum yum!